Homeland

What is home to you?

Family? A place? A specific smell or taste? The place you grew up? Friends? The place you live right now?

 

To me it means all of the above which is why I'm lucky, to call three special places my home and I was able to go back to all of them in the last five months.

All of them are places that shaped me, made an impact on my life and are the homes to the people I love.

I wanna look back at the last couple of months and introduce you to my HOME.

 

Home Number 1 -Houston, TX (US)

Two months ago, I was able to go back to the place where this blog started, and where one of my biggest journeys so far began.

My lovely hostparents Sarah and Chris were celebrating their wedding and where so generous in inviting me to be part of it. 
I was a little scared of going back to Texas after more than two years. I have so many memories, good and bad, happy and sad that were made there in the beautiful Montrose district.  I didn't know, if it would be weird to see my hostkids again and my hostparents. They've had new aupairs after all and a lot of things happened during these two years.

But when I landed at the IAH Airport and saw my hostfamily and Nela again I just thought: I'm home.

It has been an incredible time in Houston!
Thank you Sarah and Chris for showing me, that I am still a part of your family!

It was fun to go back to old places with Nela and discover new ones with Nadja.

After three weeks in good ol' H-town I know now, that this place is truly home to me!

 

 


Home Number 2 - Büren an der Aare, BE (Switzerland)

The day I landed in Switzerland, I moved all my stuff and my belongings to my new home. 
Since the beginning of August I can now call the Seeland ( a beautiful area close to Biel/Bienne) my home. I've found myself a little place next to Büren, where I'm working since March.
I am still stunned by this gift that God has given me. Not only does he provide me with an education, occupation and a home - he also surrounds me with people, who I am happy to call my friends. 
I'm still learning to fnd my way around here (I just got lost today and passed the same intersection 3 times), much to the amusement of the locals. One example would be me, driving 20 minutes to the Highwayramp I already knew instead of the one, that is 5 minutes away from my home.... Yeah, that happend...
I'm still getting to know the Swiss culture and I have a feeling, my friends are getting to know the German one... Or maybe they just get to know me! :D

I love the little studio I live in! It gives me space for myself, to prepare for anything that's going on and to host (not too many) friends (limited space :D)

I don't know, how long God wants me to stay here, but it is definetly a HOME for me and I'm happy to be here.

Home Number 3 - Adelshofen (Germany)

Some of you may wonder, why this home is not my Number 1 in the listing. It is the place I grew up after all.

To clarify this, there is no preference or importance order in this article. I only put it like this, because after I finally moved everything, I went home to my family in Germany after almost 4 months. A lot has happened within the last time I saw them in spring and I have been busy with travelling, studying and living... 
It is always good to come back to 'the roots', to catch up with my parents, siblings, grandparents and my friends from back home. It always feels like I'm refueling when I'm with my family and that's a good thing. 

I am blessed to have them in my life, and even though I don't see them as much as I'd like to, it is precious, when we finally do meet up.

During my time in Adelshofen I also attended the wedding of a dear friend of mine.

It is just plain awesome to see, how God has a perfect plan for every single one of us and I'm excited whatelse he has in store for you and me!!


This has been a rather sentimental blogpost,  but once in a while this is okay too :)

 

I am thankful for your support and I'm looking forward to catch up with you personally soon!

 

Love y'all!!!

 

Cheers, Sarah  <3

xxx

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0