Oh come all ye faithful. ..

Okay, I did not intend to use my blog as a plattform for political matters, and I still don't want it to become something like that. It is rather a place, where I want to share with people who care, the things that matter to me.

For quite some time, the whole refugee situation has been dwelling inside of me and it was always a topic, that was touching my heart and really wanting me to interact more, to help people out, to support as much as I can.

Lately it feels like I have to apoplogize or justify myself for caring about refugees.

Yes, that's it - I have to justify, why I want to help out people who are running from the Terror that they have ssen with their own eyes. people who risk everything to have the slightest chance of a better life in what they think will be like paradise. And compared to where they are coming from, it really looks like paradise here. We have a peaceful country, lots of jobs and enough wealth that everyone is able to afford luxury like an appartment, a car and maybe even vaction on a regular basis.

Last week, we got a sniff of the situation all these people are coming from. The things that have happened in Paris have showns us a piece of that hell, that terror that refugees are running from. And instead of standing together, comfort each other and finally understanding, what these people had to go through - we are blaming them for what is happening now in Europe.
I cannot believe it. It makes me so mad, angry and frustrated - you don't even want to know!!!!

 

Yes, I am scared for my family.

Yes there is a chance, that there are terrrorists coming into our country.

Yes, I am aware of the overwhelming feeling that one might get if you see so much pain and suffering around us. 

 

But why do we fear so much, that the bad will overtake? Why do we LET the bad overtake?

In the bible there is a clear command to that subject:
Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.

 

So why the freck do we stand against that command? How dare we?

Encouriging the rising fear around us is not gonna make ANY difference. At all.

 

Let me introduce you to a new word : FORGIVENESS.
Ever heard of that? It's one of the hardest things to do - but is also the only way to break that circle of violence, suffering and terror around us. If we want something to change in our culture - we need to change our heart. 
Hardening our feelings towards people in this situation is not gonna do shite.

Neither is closing the borders.

Or spamming social media with comments about how our christian culture is overtaken.

 

Honestly - who really thinks of our culture as Christian?
Go to the street and find 10 people who know what happened on Christmas and 5 on pentacostal. 

Yeah right - I thought so. If we want to show people how we think our little 'Paradise' should stay, we should act like it. 

 

What if by trying to keep our country safe - we just increase the aggression some people might bring with them?

So how about instead we try to welcome them with open hearts, so that they can see that something is different here?

We have the chance to be the change - WHAT DO WE DO WITH IT?

 

If your enemy is hungry, feed him, if he is thirsty, give him something to drink. Romans 12

 

For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,  I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ - Matthew 25:31-46

 

When do we start acting like what we are believing?

 

After all, we still have an allmighty GOD to surround us - what are we so afraid of?

 

God bless everyone of you

Sarah

 

 

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0